Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

Discovering possible exceptions throw?

Does anybody know if there is a way to discover all of the exceptions that a method could possibly throw? 

In Java, the compiler discovers this for you, and requires you to explicitly list exceptions after each method signature.  That’s not the case in C#, so it raises the question, “How confident are we that this code catches all of the exceptions that it should?” 

Back when I used Java, I was annoyed that the compiler required you to list them explicitly, but now that I'm using C#, I wonder if my code is bulletproof, or if I'm just getting into a habit of allowing exceptions to "float all the way up".

plioi
Thursday, May 26, 2005

==> I wonder if my code is bulletproof

It's not.

No code is.

Sgt. Sausage
Thursday, May 26, 2005

"I wonder if my code is bulletproof, or if I'm just getting into a habit of allowing exceptions to "float all the way up".
"

Go back and read the 2000+ posts out here on exceptions that have occurred within the past two weeks. Please don't get that mess started again.

matt
Thursday, May 26, 2005

Then I'll rephrase my question:

Does anybody know if there is a way to discover all of the exceptions that a method could possibly throw?

plioi
Thursday, May 26, 2005

No

Dennis Forbes
Thursday, May 26, 2005

Or rather yes, the answer is no

Dennis Forbes
Thursday, May 26, 2005