Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

ASP.NET Web Project Frustration!

Ok, i'm new to the Visual Studio and IIS and all this.  I've done some small .NET projects in textpad, etc. but I've inherited a LARGE project with 7 different web projects all in Visual Studio. 

If someone could please explain how I'm supposd to configure everything or point to a good tutorial, i'd be quite greatful.

I have all the files in a seperate directory for each web application and the .SLN file, but apparently I need to  create a virtual directory (for my dev env. at least) for each web application?  Then I specify the directory that conatins all the files, etc. 

Is this the proper way of setting up an dev enviorment for this type of project?  This seems incredibly cumbersome, as I'd like to be able to simply check out all the files onto another workstation with VS.net and build immediatly without having to spend an hour configuring IIS. 

Thanks for anyones help, its much appreciated.

Vince
Thursday, March 03, 2005

Your frustration is understandable - the integration of web apps in solutions, and the deployment of the same from Sourcesafe, is terribly hackish.

This is of little help, but somewhere on Microsoft's site they have a document titled something like "Visual Studio Team Development Guidelines", detailing best practices for setting up projects, integrating in Sourcesafe, and so on. Anyway hopefully that helps in the search.

Dennis Forbes
Thursday, March 03, 2005

Hoepfully someone will come up with a good link for you to get started.  Once you get past that, you should try to use ASP.net without web projects, it is the only way I can keep my sanity while doing ASP.net.  Good information here: http://pluralsight.com/wiki/default.aspx/Fritz.AspNetWithoutWebProjects
and more by googling for "ASP.net without web projects".

Good luck.

Todd Schneider
Thursday, March 03, 2005

What is so hard about web projects?