Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

Building a "rolling" number SP in MS-SQL

Hi,

I am fairly new to MS-SQL and stored procedures.

I need to create a unique continuous "rolling" invoice number which is assigned when I create an invoice. The trouble is that I cannot do:

read current invoice_no
update invoice_no +=1 in a single row table

because I cannot guarantee that 2 users won't pick up the same number and also invoice numbers must be re-used so in the event of a transaction failure e.g.

user 1 gets invoice number 1
user 2 gets invoice number 2

if user 1 fails to update for what ever reason, invoice number 1 will never get used and the VAT man doesn't like missing invoice numbers.

I have thought about having a table which writes a new row when an invoice number is needed e.g.

account        invoice number
MIKE                      1
MIKE                      2
MIKE                      3

so that I can scan to find the last one used, deal with any lock issues and as long as I update it in a transaction along with the invoice creation then it will be O.K. but if it fails I could have:

MIKE                      4

I need some way of recognizing that 3 has not been used and the ability to reuse it.

MIKE                      4
MIKE                      3

I cannot use identity fields because if I merge databases later, then the identity number could change.

I know that this way will probably get slower in the future but has anyone solved this issue.

Does any of this make any sense?

I would like to write an SP that deals with all this:

1) Locking/dealing with multiple users trying to get the next invoice number.

2)  Handles re-use of "missing" numbers in the event of a transaction failure.

I am sure this problem has been solved many times.

Does anyone have any links for examples of solving this?

Mike
Friday, January 14, 2005

==> read current invoice_no
==> update invoice_no +=1 in a single row table