Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

Transitioning my brain to .NET

Hello All,
I have been writing software for donkeys years now, basically in order Basic, DBase, Clipper, Mapper, C, Gupta, VB. and a few more that I've forgotten. I have been developing in VB for about 5 years, and even if I say so myself, I've got rather good at it. So I'm facing a bit of internal resistance to jumping aboard the .NET wagon and leaving my trusty sharpened tools of trade behind me. But alas, the only thing that is constant is change and I guess its about that time. Would somebody care to name a book that will guide me like a baby through the architecture of .NET but treat me like a guru in terms of putting labels on forms etc?

Alberto
Wednesday, October 09, 2002

Perhaps Cornell & Morrison, PROGRAMING VB.NET: A GUIDE FOR EXPERIENCED PROGRAMMERS (Apress) or Troelsen, VISUAL BASIC .NET AND THE .NET PLATFORM: AN ADVANCED GUIDE (Apress), if you want to stick with VB. Or Liberty, PROGRAMMING C# (O'Reilly) if you want to switch gears.

Mike Gunderloy

Thanks Mike, I bought Troelsen and the Microsoft Core Reference (Balena) Programming Visual Basic.NET.

Looks like I'll be busy for a few days....

Alberto

anything from troelson, is very, very good.
i have  his atl book, and his (early .net beta 2) book.

a very good author. highly recommened.

Wm
Thursday, October 10, 2002

My recommendation would be "Microsoft .NET for Programmers" by Fergal Grimes.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/1930110197/joelonsoftware/ref=nosim

Guy Incognito

Wm,

I bought Troelsen's C# (.net beta 2) book recently, and on the cover it said that updates for the final release would be available online.  Checking online, I found no updates.

Is there anything in the book that you found inaccurate in the final release of .net?

Nick Hebb