Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

What's your .NET programming philosophy?

I've been doing VB for over 10 years, did ASP, JavaScript and VBScript, now doing .NET.
So we just hired this contractor. I asked him to write an import utility to parse data from an ascii text file and import it into an Oracle table. A week or so later, I looked at his code and I couldn't make heads or tails out of it. He had dragged and dropped all the data components (connection, dataset, etc). He had like 6 or 7 vb files with all these different classes. He had code that checked the schema of these drag-and-drop-tables just in case they ever change. And instead of writing good old-fashioned INSERT or UPDATE SQL, he set some sort of flags on the dataset, and let the data adapter update the records to the Oracle table in one fell swoop. We're talking over 2,000 records. Is this how all you other .NET programmers are doing things? Have I been out of the loop on something here? What's your philosphy drag and drop components and one-button-push-data adapter to do updates/inserts/deletes?

SongSing Writer
Sunday, October 03, 2004

For me, the answer depends on whether it was just a throw-away project, or whether it was intended to be used and maintained in the weeks and years ahead.

I did wonder why you'd want to write code to do this, then the Oracle tools will just do it for you, but that's another story.

The drag-and-drop approach is fine for disposable code, but, imho, is inappropriate for long-term code, as you cannot comment it.

Unless the code is trivial, in which case it doesn't really matter, it is useful to be able to comment and document your code, showing why it is like it is. The is generally not an option when you just use the designers.