Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

OOP help...

I'm a long-time procedural programmer and am trying to improve my OO skills and figure out how its all supposed to work. I've read a lot of theory, but am having some trouble putting it all into a real project. Let me give a relatively simple real-world scenario and ask how we would handle this using OO techniques.

"Customer Data Import"
Procedural steps:
Open a text file containing new customer data.
Open a database containing existing customer data.
Loop through the text file, and for each customer:
Read the new customer data
Look up the customer number in the database
Perform a series of calculations based on the data
Store the results of the calculation in the database
Also log the results in another text file

We also want the UI to display status information (# processed, # found, # not found, etc.)

My first procedural approach used lots of public variables and publically declared objects, and a big giant loop that did all the work. As it got more and more complex, it was nearly unmaintainable.

My second attempt: I have an object for Customer, database, and textfile. I can call customer.read, customer.lookup, customer.calculate, all that cool oo stuff. I'm still having a couple of problems, though:

1) Still have a lot of public variables, its just much, much harder to update them from all the parts of the code. The status counters, for example, could be updated from Customer class or the primary Sub.

2) I end of passing a lot of objects around as parameters. When I call customer.read() I have to pass the txtFile object as a parameter. When I call customer.Lookup() I have to pass the database object AND the counters object (for keeping track of progress) as parameters. My code smells, but I'm not sure how to reorganize it.