Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

ASP.NET exception handling best practices

I'm looking for books, websites, or just advice on the best way to handle exceptions in an ASP.NET program.

Currently our application just throws the ugly red and yellow default screen at the user; exceptions are rarely, if ever, caught.  I'd like to have a standard exception handler which logs the exception to a log database (using log4net so we can configure whether logging is enabled or not with the web.config file on the server.

However, I'm still new to ASP.NET and I don't have the foggiest idea of how to go about making such a thing.  Okay, I lied, I have a few foggy ideas, gained from reading a few web tutorials, but I'm worried (certain!) that I'm missing something.

Thoughts, ideas, shoves in the right direction are most appreciated.  Thanks.

John.

John Wilson
Wednesday, May 26, 2004

Hi John,

In an ASP.NET application, you can deal with exceptions thrown by your assemblies at either the page level or the application level.

PAGE-LEVEL
------------------
For page-level error handling, you need to deal with the following:
1) Set the "customErrors" setting in Web.config
2) Add code to the page's Page_Error event to deal with the exception.
3) Create at least one custom error page.
4) Point your page's ErrorPage property to point to one of your custom error pages

First step is to decide how you're going to set the "customErrors setting in Web.config. If "Off", all clients, whether remote or local, receive the standard ASP.NET error page that "explains" the unhandled error. If "On", local clients see the custom error page that you've defined, whereas remote clients receive the standard ASP.NET error page. If "RemoteOnly", local clients see the standard ASP.NET error page, whereas remote clients see any custom error page that you've defined.