Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

New to .NET, experienced in J2EE.. seeking advice

I'm a J2EE developer starting a new asp.net project in a few weeks. The project is about doing a small web based content managing system.

I've been told that we are going to use webmatrix as IDE.. Is it any good?

What learning path do you recomend for a J2EE developer to become proficient in .Net. ?

Also, Is there anything similar to struts (the framework I mostly use) in the .Net world?

What are the main differences between J2EE an .Net philosophies?

Thanks in advance.

DotNet newbie
Sunday, May 23, 2004

A common mistake is for people to mix up .Net and J2EE. .Net is a development plaform. There are multiple languages that can be used to write programs which are compiled to an intermediate format (IL) that can then be run on the common language runtime (CLR). Similarly, the Java platform allows one [mainstream] language to be used to write programs which are compiled to byte code, and which can be run on the java virtual machine (JVM).

The .net SDK is the same as the java JDK, in terms of it's purposes. It provides a library of functions that help in the development of software by providing useful classes and functions commonly required.

J2EE is an extension of the java SDK - standard edition. It is a collection of predefined specifications for implementing enterprise level services - database access (JDBC), naming and directory services (JNDI), web interfaces (JSP/Servlets), Transaction coordination (JTS) and messaging (JMS) etc... An enterprise java bean (EJB) is just a set of classes that provide a way for a client to remotely access business logic, wrapped with these services. The container (Weblogic, Webshpere, JBoss) manages the services for you so [in theory] the developer is freed up to concentrate on implementing their business logic.