Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

So, we're going to .NET (Delphi, C# content)

Dear Readers,

I'm a programmer at a small vertical market software company.  Our company's main product is written in Delphi.  For better or worse, we've decided to move our product(s) to .NET.  We've been Delphi developers since 1.0.

The simple, obvious choice is to continue development with Delphi 8 for .NET, so that we can leverage our existing Delphi knowledge and experience.

Question: Can anyone tell me why it would be better to use C# (ie. Borland's C# Builder or MS Visual Studio) instead?

DelphiGuru
Wednesday, February 25, 2004

Asking the question as a company, you should stick with Delphi.

Asking the question as an individual, having C# experience can't hurt when you're in the hunt for your next job.

Of course, any intelligent hiring person is going to know that the majority of the value in being a .NET programmer is knowing the libraries, and the particular syntax of a language (Delphi vs. C# vs. VB.NET vs. ...) is of almost no consequence.

Brad Wilson (dotnetguy.techieswithcats.com)
Wednesday, February 25, 2004

>Question: Can anyone tell me why it would be better to >use C# (ie. Borland's C# Builder or MS Visual Studio) >instead?

You could argue that Microsoft will continue to be in business for as long as any of us will be alive.  Borland seems to be doing well, but it is no Microsoft and might one day disappear.

Also, you have the option of upgrading your application to Delphi.net, then writting all of your new features in C#.  As time goes on your application would be less Delphi and more C#...

Len Weaver
Thursday, February 26, 2004

don't forget decompiling. try it out--write something in delphi.net or vb.net or C#. then load the assembly with reflector and ask for your code back in vb.net or c#.