Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

Programming for the Internet

I posted this on Joel's main forum, but I thought I'd add it here as well because it could be of particular interest to .NET and ASP.NET developers.

I graduated in '98, and since then the majority of my programming experience has been for web-based projects.  This recent post ( http://www.dotnetremoting.cc/DotNetCentric/2002/09/19.asp#a275 ) from Ingo Rammer reminded me how sound programming practices and programming for the internet are often at odds. 

Layered architectures must be refined for a web-based project, where speed is a much bigger concern.  The nature of scalability for the web is different from desktop apps.  And web-based programming just suffers from poor penmanship as companies try to push out products as fast as they can.

.NET and ASP.NET is bringing object-oriented philosophy to the Internet.  But right now it suffers from a lack of adequate documentation for enterprise level design. 

So far, I've seen many applying standard programming practices to the web, which is excellent.  But the web is also a new medium, with its own programming concerns, and I've seldom seen anyone addressing these web-specific concerns. 

My question is what other resources, books, people etc are out there that are trying to bring solid, sound programming practices to the web? 

Monsur Hossain
Monday, September 23, 2002

This has always been an interesting topic to me.

In some circles there has always been the perception that programming for the web is not "Real" programming :-). While I do not agree with that, that was a by-product of the original cowboy mentality and the hack-and-slash coding practices that were used to get a web presence up and running as quickly as possible in the heyday of the early dotcom era.  In the early days, the sites were nothing more than brochure-ware with slick graphics to grab your attention.