Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

dot-net: buggy, buggy, buggy (as hell)

I have spent about 4 hours trying to get a POST to work.

HttpWebRequest.GetRequestStream() hangs on me every time, then times out.

Yes, I tried everything the help for that method suggests.

I wonder - how come that in Delphi things just work with a lot less "tweaking"? Why does Indy work so much better than the .NET objects written by the allmighty Microsoft?

I am not pissed at MS in general. I am pro-Microsoft.

But the .NET Framework is extremely buggy. I run into bugs almost everywhere. Then I spend a day or two working on the problem.

In 20% of the cases I solve the problem, in the rest of the cases I don't.

Maybe I'm a poor programmer, but, then, why have I succeeded in writing commercial, successful applications? Why am I considered by my peers to be a good programmer?

Maybe there is something about the .NET Framework that escapes my understanding, and I can't grok it. But it's very unlikely that it's so.

So, I am beginning to think that .NET = a collection of a million bugs.

:-(

Crane Michael
Thursday, July 24, 2003

I think J. may delete this post, but:

On the site, you say that VS .NET is Delphi 7, and Delphi 8, and Delphi 9.

Maybe, as a concept.

But it's amazingly buggy. Maybe VB programmers are used to the "bugs in every library class" approach, but us, Delphi programmers, are not used to that.

From the bugs point of view, Delphi = VS .NET 5.0 !!!

Crane Michael
Thursday, July 24, 2003

When I work with Delphi, I see a tremendous number of bugs, wonder what Borland's QA department was thinking, and wonder why the heck they insist on making things so difficult that are so easy to do in VB, VC, .Net, etc.  So who is right, me or you?  The answer could very well be neither.  When you are familiar with a platform, you tend to overlook the annoyances because you're used to them.