Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

.NET learning.

Hi,

I have been programming for the last 8 years in clipper/foxpro etc..

I am having great difficulty getting up to speed on the follow subjects :-

1) Object Oriented programming.
2) SQL including stored procedures.
3) UML.
4) Design patterns
5) 'n' tier development

I am using VB.NET and ASP.NET at the moment and I really get the feeling I am not using VS.NET to it's best ability. For example, I am hand coding all the dataset, connection information over and over again in the web pages and manually databinding entry boxes. I just know that this can probably be done using drag and drop.

Can anyone point me to good reading material on the above subjects and if there is a user guide for VS.NET that goes into all its features?

I got mine from MSDN subscription and it seems devoid of how of use VS.NET. (Unless I am looking in the wrong place. :-) )

It seems the xbase languages have kept me in isolation for two long.

Before all the VB.NET haters jump in, I will switch to C# later.

Regards

Mike Grace
Friday, September 20, 2002

Baaa... Stick with VB. Its fun. Its pretty. And its a much less silly name than C#.

As for learning, I haven't found anything that really does a good job. Every book I pick up spends the first 22 chapters on drawing forms and then tags 1 chapter on the end called "working with data" or some such.

A good book would be nice. Some just needs to write it. Hey wait, JOEL! You've got all that free time....

That is sort of the key problem you see. Anyone who knows what they are really doing is too busy doing it to sit back and write about it. That leaves people who have no clue about real world development to write the books.

Marc LaFleur

Mike,

Your request for information seems to fall into two categories.

Getting up to speed on the OO/UML/Design and making effective use of VS.NET.