Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

Simple XML reading question

Hi,

I'm trying to do about the most simple thing I can with XML as I'm just starting out. My document looks like this

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<root>
    <TagA>Something I Want To Get</TagA>
</root>

I use the following code

System.Xml.XmlTextReader reader = new System.Xml.XmlTextReader(Server.MapPath("../XML/XML1.xml"));
            while(reader.Read())
            {
                    if(reader.Name=="TagA")
                    {
                        Response.Write(reader.Value);
                    }
            }
            reader.Close();

(hope the formatting is OK!)

I cant figure out how to get the content inside TagA. I must be being a bit blind because I couldn't find out how from the docs

thanks in advance

col

Colin
Tuesday, April 29, 2003

you need to do something like this:

if(reader.Name=="TagA" && reader.NodeType == XmlNodeType.Element)
{
  Response.Write("ElementString=" + reader.ReadElementString());
}

Consider using the DOM if the documents are not huge (it loads it all into a tree in memory):

XmlDocument doc = new XmlDocument();
doc.Load(Server.MapPath("../XML/XML1.xml"));

XmlNode tagA = doc.SelectSingleNode("/root/TagA");
Console.WriteLine( tagA.InnerText );

Duncan Smart
Tuesday, April 29, 2003

Duncan is correct.  The big twist between XmlReader and XmlDomDocument is this: when you read a single "node" with XmlReader, you are NOT reading an entire XML element, just the start tag! Then you need another read command to read the contents, and then yet another to read the end tag.  Only empty XML elements are read in one go.

Check the various properties (NodeType, IsStartElement, IsEmptyElement, ...) to see what you've got and react accordingly.  XmlReader is fast and generally easy to use, but you do have to put quite a few guard statements into your code if you aren't 100% sure of the data format.

Chris Nahr