Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

Printing reports in web apps

I've got an idea for an .Net application that would be perfect as a web app - simple UI's, data centric, widely used in an enterprise, etc.  The only drawback is that I have no experience with creating printable reports in web apps.  It's a simple app that I'm doing mainly to teach myself asp.net, so I don't want to have to use a business intelligence tool like Crystal Reports ($$). Even though I'm doing it as a learning avenue, it still would be a viable application - but only if I could print reports.

What are my options?

Thanks,
Nick

Nick
Friday, March 28, 2003

Do you mean printing on the client side or on the web server?

Using HTML to produce output for a printer is a frustrating experience if your doing reports that are more sophisticated than a simple header/body/footer report. 

If your doing simple reports and you can guarantee that your clients are using IE, checkout the tbody attribute style="display: table-header-group" to add column headers to the top of each page.

Another option would be to use a PDF writer.  There are a number of them that exist.  I'm using one for classic ASP at the moment and I would recommend it. 

Crystal Reports would probably work, but you would require that your target audience have to download the Crystal Reports web report viewer (or whatever its called).

Guy Incognito
Friday, March 28, 2003

I never considered printing on the server.  I assume you would need to create an separate document to print in addition to the HTML page. How would you enable the user to route the print job to a nearby printer of their choice? Would all the possible printer drivers in the company need to be loaded on the web server?