Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

Starting out with C#

Can anyone suggest a good book (or books) for learning C# from the ground up?

I've written a couple of programs with VB.Net. Having worked in in VB6, I naturally tried VB.Net first. Soon found out that it is a completely different animal and perhaps switching to C# would be better as there appear to be more examples in C# than VB.Net.

Any suggestions/comments on the best way to approach this is greatly appreciated.

I realize that one can make better suggestions if one knows the target audience. So... I've been doing software development since the 1980's and DOS. I have a good grasp of the fundamentals such as data structures, structured programming, and objects. Did a little C programming in the mid-80s, but moved on to Clipper, and Visual Basic 4 (with SQL Server as the back-end database) as I could produce results faster using those tools.

Thank you for your help.

Himanshu Nath
Wednesday, March 26, 2003

I'm crossing over from classic VB to C# and found 'Professional C# 2nd Edition' from Wrox to be a pretty good all-round starting point. 

It seems to cover most topics and weighs in at a reasonable £44 (US$60).

John Fletcher
Thursday, March 27, 2003

If you're strong on VB6, you can pick up most of what you'll need to know about C# from Brian Bischof's THE .NET LANGUAGES: A QUICK TRANSLATION GUIDE (Apress): side-by-side examples in VB6, VB.NET, and C#.

For a general C# book, I should mention MASTERING VISUAL C# (Sybex), of which I am a co-author. However, I think Jesse Liberty's PROGRAMMING C# (O'Reilly) is really a better book.

Mike Gunderloy
Thursday, March 27, 2003

Also, Jesse Liberty's Learning C# is also a good book, although maybe at a more introductory level.

Charles Reich
Thursday, March 27, 2003