some newsgroups but I find that people tend to argue over the correct
way to implement a specific function, so you end up finding 50
different ways to implement Val().  Do you know of an official
reference that would tell me how to convert my VB6 specific functions
into their equivalents.  Especially looking for conversions for: Val(),
IsDate(), IsNumeric(), IsArray, etc.

Tim
Tuesday, January 14, 2003

I'm relatively new to C# myself, but for many of those, the 'is' keyword would seem to replace all the IsX() functions (e.g., 'if (foo is SomeType)').  Val() could be replaced by the Parse() methods of System.Int32 and System.Double, etc.  Don't know of any official conversion guide, though.

Sam Gray

And remember you can reference "Microsoft.VisualBasic" and use all VB's functions from there - e.g.: Val() can be found in Microsoft.VisualBasic.Conversion.Val().

Although, as Sam mentions I'd prefer to use the "proper" framework mechanisms such as "int.Parse(string)" and "if(x is Array)" etc etc.

Duncan Smart

Here's one I just ran into:  what's the .NET equivalent of vbCrLf?  I use this one in string processing all the time & haven't quickly found it in online help.  (=

Sam Gray

Never mind, it's Environment.NewLine.  Google Groups is my friend.  (=

Sam Gray

or "\r\n" ...

Duncan Smart

Remember that the Parse functions throw exceptions if the string isn't in the correct format.  To avoid a try/catch block, you might want to check using "is" (and check for null) before trying Parse.

Monsur
Wednesday, January 15, 2003

Tim's original post asks for "converting the built-in
function calls in VB6 to equivalent calls in C#."

The answer to your question depends strongly on your definition of "equivalent".  For me, I'd define "equivalent" as "every input produces exactly the same output and side effects".

If what you're looking for is a "functional equivalent" -- ie, the same output is produced for only the set of input you care about, that's different.