Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Strategy when interviewing a prospect PM?

Hi!

Tomorrow I'm facing the task of interviewing a prospect Program Manager. We are currently 5 Software Design Engineers in the dev department and we seriously lack a Program Manager.

I've some experience in interviewing prospect SDEs, but I feel I shouldn't apply the same interview methodology when it concerns a PM position. He is an ex Microsoft employee and of course he knows the MS way to interview people (a way that we try to adapt). He has been both dev lead and PM at Microsoft.

I wonder if you have a cookbook recipe for my situation or just some advice on how I should approach this prospect?

Unsygn
Thursday, April 22, 2004

In a nutshell, ask design questions and look for thoughtful answers that explore an understanding of tradeoffs, user empathy, and a deep understanding of what computers can and cannot do.

"Design a spice rack for blind people"
"Design a better UI for a car stereo"
"Imagine that your car always knew the speed limit on the road you were driving on. Design a feature to take advantage of this."

etc.

Joel Spolsky
Fog Creek Software
Thursday, April 22, 2004

"Imagine that your car always knew the speed limit on the road you were driving on. Design a feature to take advantage of this."

The car could automatically notify the police everytime you speed!

Josh No-Spam Jones
Thursday, April 22, 2004

There's a car I wouldn't buy! (except maybe for a teenage son).

Remember one goal of business is to make the customer happy, not the authorities, government, etc.

Aussie Mick
Friday, April 23, 2004

"Design a better UI for a car stereo"

1) I wish the radio presets didn't care what band they were on. I hate the way I have to change the band to AM before I can access my AM presets, and then change the band back again to acccess the FM ones.

2) Normalise the volume so when changing from tape or cd to radio the volume doesn't shoot up.

Do I get the job?