Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Qualifications Now Or Later?

This is my 3rd month at college studying 'Bachelor of Interactive Entertainment'. This is supposed to get me into the games industry. But like at any school (primary, secondary, tertiary) you sit the course but teach yourself.

I know that I can pass and become qualified. Hell, any Tom, Dick and Harry can become qualified. But only the smartest ones will be employed. (That's why you hear a lot of students that have graduated and say they can't find a job)

There are 2 choices I'm considering. Would it be more efficient if:

CHOICE A:
I was to study on my own at home, *knowing and understanding* what I'm studying, and then being able to confidently present a damn good demo reel to a company that would except me and pay for my qualifications.

or

CHOICE B:
Continue with the two year 'Bachelor of Interactive Entertainment' course, and come out with qualifications but not *knowing and understanding* what I'm doing.

*when I say 'knowing and understanding' I'm referring to this because when you finish a Bachelor course, you are not actually good at it, just qualified. If I was to study at home I wouldn't just be completing my own course I would be experimenting, mastering, and learning the 'art'.

Zyrus
Monday, April 19, 2004

While it is certainly possible to pass a course of study without really learning the material, it is by no means obligatory.

Why not continue the course of study and actually master the material as well? This may take more work but it's certainly possible.

The trouble with the "learn it yourself at home" theory is that most people just don't have the motivation to do it really well. At least the program your in will guide you through the areas that somebody has decided are important to learn, and give you an opportunity to learn from your faculty and colleagues.

Finally, if you have formal qualifications you're going to find it a lot easier to get past the resume gatekeepers.