Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Career path

Hi Joel,

My question involves how to get from where I am in my career to where I want to be in my career. I have a pretty clear picture of where I want to be, I'm just not sure how to get there.

My situation: I have been working with computers professional for about 6 years, mostly networking-related. My degree is in Business Administration. I am dabbling in C# and .NET right now. I want to be a professional programmer, and I am having trouble deciding the best path to take to get there. One option: go back to college and get an MS in CS. This is an appealing option, but will require much money and time, which is limited but available if necessary. Another option is self-study. Self-study has proven to be more difficult than I thought. I have found it difficult deciding what to focus my energies on when studying (there's so much to learn!). As a result, my study efforts are usually unfocused. which doesn't get me very far.

For someone in my position, which would you recommend: self-study or university learning? If self-study is your recommended path, where should I start?

Josh E.
Wednesday, April 14, 2004

First of all, I would start out by taking one or two courses -- even not-for-credit if necessary -- in a hard-core computer science area, just to check if you really want to be a programmer (and if you have the aptitude). I would take one data structures course taught in C (NOT Java) and one algorithms course.

If you find that you're really loving it, go ahead and get the Masters, but bite the bullet and do it full time. Get financial aid if necessary. Trying to change careers by going to night school is an exercise in frustration and by the time you've got all the credits you need, you'll be long past the stage where your brain is malleable enough to do hard core programming.