Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Outsourcing development worries

I hope this isn't a rude question to ask on a site run by a software development guru, but here goes:

I'm a half-decent programmer with a pretty good spec for software to help banks in an area that can drastically improve profits.  At this point, I'm operating on a shoestring - and I'm short on time.

I'm thinking about placing the project on a bid site where it would probably wind up being developed in India.  I've got quite a few butterflies in my stomach on this:

- Who are the people on the other end?  If they claim an IIT diploma, are they telling the truth?
- Who are the references?  Is there any Ebay-type fraud in this world?
- Are there legitimate piracy concerns?  Does a country without respect for American drug patents have a culture that discourages bad behavior?
- Is a well-developed spec good enough?  Do you need face time when developing a product from scratch?

Any answers or even other worries are welcome.

bankstrong
Wednesday, April 07, 2004

When I first read the title, I thought you meant that you were going to outsource the worrying itself. Now THAT would be an interesting business: paying some tranquil and serene guru in Kathmandu to worry for you.

I don't have any personal experience with those sites although I've poked around them and heard anecdotes. But let me answer your question as crisply as I possibly can in the absense of detailed information. It Is Not Going To Work.

Seriously.

Programming is a skill and the quality of practitioners ranges from awful to decent to excellent. It's not just a skill, it's a talent, and a lot of people don't have it. And it sounds like your entire business plan is riding on it. I'm not surprised you're worried.