Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Windows GUI Programming for a Unix Programmer

Hello Joel,

I am an experienced C/C++ Unix programmer with little to no programming experience on the Windows platform.  I found your "Biculturalism" review/essay quite interesting as well as the recent "Learning Microsoft platforms" thread started by Unix Guy.  Unix Guy was interested in doing many things and as a result you gave him a very broad plan for approaching the Windows platform.  I have a much more specific question that will hopefully yield a much more specific answer.

I am quite comfortable developing GUIs using the C-based Gtk+ toolkit on Unix platforms.  I have done a few simple Swing GUIs in Java and am also familar with the Perl and Python TK interfaces.  I would like to learn how to develop GUI applications for Windows.  Nothing fancy at first:  a simple GUI-based "Hello World" program that stores data in a flat text file would be nice.

What is the best place for me to start given my previous experience?  I am interested in hearing about both wizard based approaches and approaches where I program directly against a lower level API.  Should I start with Visual Basic, stick with C/C++ or jump directly to C#?  Do you have any suggestions for books that focus on GUI programming?  Are there any questions that I should be asking that I am not!?

Thanks!

(another) Unix Guy
Monday, March 15, 2004

I am personally a big believer in starting with the low level tools. Once you understand the anatomy of the platform, you're welcome to use the high level tools for productivity.

So, I would start with Petzold and the Win 32 API in C (not even C++). That's the moral equivalent of learning programming starting with K&R C.

Joel Spolsky
Fog Creek Software
Monday, March 15, 2004

Joel,

I've been interested in much the same question for a long time.  I just read (and bookmarked BTW) this thread: