Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Pair Programming Revisited

The previous discussion  (2001-early 2003) was excellent. It presented reactions from the trenches as well as the top. My reading was that the experience was positive for most people, and virtually everyone found the designs were better and there were fewer bugs.

BUT THAT WAS EONS AGO!  "Development" is constantly evolving and reactions both change and mature. Any new reactions?

Joel has commented that his biggest problem in his programming productivity is inertia, just getting started, on some days. Intuitively it would seem PP would be quite useful in overcoming inertia. In other readings (I've been researching this quite a bit in the last two days) it seems common PP observations include stronger focus and fewer breaks, which would seem to support the idea PP might help with inertia problems.

I WAS a coding developer (and boss, trainer, etc.) a thousand years ago (1966-1980). The desk behind glass at the Boston Computer Museum could be mine, even down to the Autocoder coding sheets (for IBM 1460 mainframes that could have up to 16,000 bytes of memory).

Now I am starting a company to create vertical software for big auto repair shops. I am researching the best tools -
...J2EE or .NET?
...MySQL or PostgreSQL or other?

I am researching the best management -
...Steve McConnell's write the user's manual before coding begins OR XP?
...Pair programming or prima donnas?
...Open-book accounting?

PS - Joel, you really are a treasure! Your web site is the best source I have found for pragmatic, detailed, un-varnished suggestions and advice. Bravo! Thank you! 

Doug Hobkirk
Sunday, March 14, 2004

My opinion of pair programming hasn't changed much:

1) It takes more resources than the usual code-test-fix cycle, even if it does reduce initial bugs.
2) It's worth it for emergency code fixes when you simply have to change code running on a live web server at 5:30 PM on a Friday afternoon