Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Training

Joel, in your whole working life, how much job training would you say that you received and how much do you think that it would be worth?

For me, I estimate that I've received 6 weeks of formal job training in 10 years of working in Silicon Valley.  One company sent me to a two week course to learn their product as a user before I started programming on it.  One company paid and sent me to a one-day conference.  Five companies (or so) allowed me to attend a conference using the free expo pass.  If I added up the occasional times that there were brown bag lunches to learn something or somebody sat with me for half an hour to teach me one thing, that would be the rest of the time.  All told, I'd estimate the value of training provided by companies to me to be worth between $25,000 to $35,000 total.

If you included things that I learned to do (or not to do) by reading other people's code or by watching other people run their businesses, you might add a few more weeks onto that.

I ask because managers (including myself) often talk about preferring less experienced people and being willing to teach them (rather than hiring more experienced people).  But, from my own experience, we are pretty dishonest: managers talk a lot about teaching but, mostly, we only teach a little bit.  After all, it isn't really reasonable to expect a manager to be a top-notch, full-time, dedicated educator.

Daniel Howard
Wednesday, March 03, 2004

I took a one week MFC/ATL COM class with George Shepard once.

That's about it.

Oh yeah, and two days of management training at Microsoft.

So, 7 days.

That said... when I was an intern at Microsoft my mentor made an off-the-cuff comment about (for i=0; i<strlen(s); i++) that was worth three weeks of "classroom" training. And just being at Microsoft taught be so much about software development that formal classroom training paled by comparison.