Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Applying to Microsoft, any recommended teams?

I'm thinking about applying to Microsoft after my job at a startup runs its course. Are there any particular teams within Microsoft that you would recommend? Any to avoid?

anon
Saturday, February 21, 2004

At this point it's been so long since I've been there I just couldn't say.

Although, Tom Button is the only Microsoft employee who was so mean he actually made me cry, so try to avoid working anywhere near him.

What are you interested in?

Joel Spolsky
Fog Creek Software

I'm most interested in Windows Media Player and Win CE/Pocket PC groups. I have a lot of ideas and some background in both of those areas. Things like dev tools, servers, Windows, office don't interest me at all.

anon

um, ok, you answered your own question!

Anyway it looks like Tom Button, Mean Person, is probably too high up by now to cause you much trouble wherever you go.

Joel Spolsky
Fog Creek Software

Well I suppose I did answer my own question, but perhaps there is a lesser known group that does really interesting work. I think it was in Dynamics of Software Development that I read about the super duper AFX group at Microsoft. Of course they do dev tools, or at least they did, if they even still exist. But maybe there is another group that does mobile or media technology that is doing stuff an outsider wouldn't neccisarily know about.

anon

AFX is the old name for MFC.

Anyway, I'm too out-of-date on this topic. It used to be that the best way to figure out what Microsoft will be shipping in two years was by reading their help wanted ads... that may still work!

Joel Spolsky
Fog Creek Software

"Although, Tom Button is the only Microsoft employee who was so mean he actually made me cry"

Please tell me you're joking.