Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

User limitations and permissions

I know that the success of Fogbugz is that anyone can update anything - but - maybe a few configurable limitations would make it useful in more situations.

I'm an independent software developer and would like to use this web-based solution with my clients, however to do so I need some privacy, and other limits...

- allow users to be assigned to projects/areas which they can see, and the rest they can't see

- allow anyone to add comments to a case, but only the person who has been assigned a case can resolve it or assign it to someone else (unless they are admin, or the originator of course).  Otherwise we run the risk of losing stuff.

- only the originator of a case or an administrator should be able to close a case.

Flexibilty is great but if a customer has to complain twice of the same bug - just becuase someone "hit the wrong button" - it's just too risky.

Mark Plumpton
Sunday, October 03, 2004

Another idea would be to Auto-Subscribe the originator to any new bug they create. 

Mark Plumpton
Sunday, October 03, 2004

For an independent software vendor supporting projects for multiple customers, the ability to assign the customer to their specific projects is a must-have feature. We don't want one customer to see another customer's project and they don't want their issues to be seen by other customers either (case history and attachments may reveal confidential information about their business).