Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board




Upgrade process on Mac OS X?

I ran the installer/upgrader for 3.1.19. The process went very smootly and I'm pleased with that. It appears to have worked as it says FogBUGZ Version 3.1.19 (DB 328) on the Welcome page.

However, there now seem to be two copies of FogBUGZ in my server root:

/Library/WebServer/fogbugz and
/Library/WebServer/fogbugz.1

It *looks* like fogbugz.1 is the old version. (This is confusing since the Mac Finder sticks .1, .2., .3, etc. on *newer* files and folders with the same name. If this is what's happening I would *not* call it .1.)

Am I reading this right? Can I get rid of .1? Should the installer have gotten rid of .1? Or is something else entirely going on here?

Terrence Talbot
Monday, March 08, 2004

The .1 folder is your old installation.  Thats just the backup name it gets.

Michael H. Pryor
Fog Creek Software
Monday, March 08, 2004

Ok. So I assume I can delete it then?

Again, I would not call it .1 as to Mac users that means "newer". And why not just have the installer remove that directory or move it to the trash?

Terrence Talbot
Monday, March 08, 2004

Because some people modify their source... wouldn't be nice to just delete all the modifications they made.

Michael H. Pryor
Fog Creek Software
Monday, March 08, 2004

*  Recent Topics

*  Fog Creek Home