Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

Dynamic Article Creation?

I am very new to CD, having just downloaded it about 2 hours ago.  I am wondering if it is possible to for an application running on my system here to generate an article dynamically?  I would like to have a program that I wrote create a new article each day with a summary of all the Visual SourceSafe activities in my company.  That summary would be posted as a new article next time I published to the web server.  I paln on using the CD command-line publishing ability in the Windows scheduler to automatically pudate the web server once a day.

Is this sort of thing possible with CD?

Thanks

Bennett Smith
Tuesday, September 02, 2003

Considering that the .cty file containing your site is actually just a Access MDB file (JET 4.0 engine actually) with a different extension, if you dig into the data structure in that database you should be able to do what you want.

Lasse Vågsæther Karlsen

Has anyone already done the "digging" necessary?  I took a quick look at the .cty file and it appears that there are three things one would need to understand in order to update the tables dynamically.

1. What is the format of the data stored in the sArticle field in the tblArticle table.  It is of type OLE Object.

2. What is the format of the oleFile field stored in the tblFiles table?

3. What is the algorithm used to generate the nCRC value in the tblFiles table?

I know it is possible to hack into these things myself and I could then create dynamic article content in CD.  I really would prefer if there were a set of APIs or an OLE automation object model that allowed me to access the articles.  That would be very helpful and might actually already exist within the code in CD.

Does anyone know if this exists?

Bennett Smith

The OLE fields in the CityDesk database simply contain Unicode text. They use the OLE format because it is unlimited length.