Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

Citydesk vs Frontpage

Hi,

I am using the starter edition of citydesk and I like it.

I'm thinking of buying it before the 2.0 comes out so I can get the professional upgrage for free.

But before I invest $79 (I know its not a lot but I'm a student) I'd like to get a feel of how it compares against frontpage 2002 (or 2003) which I can get for the same price ($79) due to academic pricing.

I missed Frontpage 2002 trial and I would appreciate it if someone could give me some idea. Or maybe send me a trial of frontpage 2002 if you have it.

Thanks,

Rahul

Rahul Singh
Monday, August 18, 2003

I may not be the best person to answer your questions but I will try - I recently started using CityDesk after visiting a CityDesk created site.

CityDesk is more intiutive to use in creating sites. I would say that CityDesk is a Content management tool while Front Page is a more web authoring tool.

With CityDesk you can manage you site much more easily using the integrated FTP and editorial features.

Best was is to try as I did - download the starter edition. Use a readily available template such as the one from www.dwreview.com - they have a link on the site for the template download.

Look up City Desk resources from Darren Collins and TK.

FrontPage is bundled with MS Office.

Hope this helps.

Ram Dass
Tuesday, August 19, 2003

dreamweaver + citydesk

dont buy frontpage... it sucks.

Robert Cappa
Tuesday, August 19, 2003

If you buy FrontPage, the longer you use it, the less you will like it.  The first day you have it, you can create some sort of web site, but the underlying code is awful.  It has a feature that creates menus, but that feature acts in confusing ways, and (in my experience) sometimes just breaks.  The result is that you have to rebuild your site!