Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

Who is grabbing the $79 2.0 Pro deal?

Just curious how many of you folks have suddenly purchased CD 1.0 at the $79 price point knowing that you will get the $349 version as soon as CD 2.0 goes gold.

Fence Sitter
Sunday, August 10, 2003

I am fairly new to CityDesk. I initially get the free version to see if it would be suitable for my needs. I liked the free version so much that within a few days I decided to buy the Home edition. At the time of purchase I was not in any way aware that a free upgrade to the Pro version was on the table and was delighted to learn of "that" aspect some days after I had made my purchase. My CMS experience is working with Lotus Domino and GlobalSCAPE’s PureCMS both of which are *very* expensive. CityDesk, although not as powerful or as capable as the two I mentioned provides a very substantial value proposition in relation to its current price point regardless of the special offer -- from my perspective.

BTW, I had no idea that CityDesk existed. I happened to learn about CD via a non-related goggle search and for some obscure reason CD was one of the hits returned – and I am glad that *that* is the way it is. :-)

Why are you hiding behind an alias?

David Mozer
Monday, August 11, 2003

Yech... Lotus Notes Domino. Yech. I worked with it... though the way we used it was completely wrong.

Very good business speak "substantial value proposition" I could never think of phrases like that.

Some people around here like to be anonymous for various reasons. I respect their anonymity, and have been anonymous myself a few times when talking about certain particulars....

In any case, welcome to the CityDesk world.

www.marktaw.com
Monday, August 11, 2003

Have fooled with Home version and am tracking developments.