Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

Feature Requests

Hello,

I've been using CityDesk for a few months now.  I have some feature suggestions to make to the development team in hopes that they might be considered for a future release.  Perhaps some of these things are already addressed in 2.0.  Before I start, let me say that I'm a satisfied CityDesk user.  There hasn't been much of anything I've wanted to that I couldn't find a way to pull it off.  But I do still have a wish list...

- In summary, more scripting, more scripting.  I would kill for some basic If-Then capabilities, some basic functions, and object model to script to.

For Each Article in Articles
  If Article.Whatever = "Whatever" Then
      DoWhatever()
  End If
Next Article

The custom function call to DoWhatever() would be icing on the cake, but I'm not really suggesting that I need to ability to define routines or modules or anything.  Just a way to, within a template or article, do some decent inline scripting.

This would provide so much more power, particularly in relation to templates.  What I have now in 1.0 is more templates than I need.  I could have signficantly fewer templates if I had the ability to do some scripting beyond a For Each loop and a function to check if a field is empty.  Without decent scripting, the difference between Template A and Template B is only slight, to the point that it would be so much easier to have one template instead of two.