Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

Why use magic names in templates?

I'm new to using City Desk, so I'm still developing my "best practices" approach to site construction. In reading through the documentation and discussion topics, I can readily understand the underyling rationale for the "magic names"  used when adding content through the CD user interface, but so far I've avoided using magic names in my template building.

If there's a specific advantage to using them, I'd appreciate hearing about it. But at first glance they appear to be more trouble than they're worth. Aside from not being intuitive names that I can type from memory as I code, they create pathing problems in my server-side includes. Yes, there are workaround for this, but I haven't seen a persuasive rationale for using them instead of the simple, straightforward approach of hard-coded relative paths.

As background, please note that I'm very comfortable with HTML source code, so I'm creating all templates and includes files from scratch either in the CD editor or in Homesite.  My users should never have to open those files to edit any aspect of the design.

I've also read a few messages promoting CD alternatives to SSI, but since I'm really comfortable with an SSI approach I couldn't see the rationale for changing just because it *could* be done differently.

Does it all boil down to personal preference? I've built several sites using Microsoft's Content Mangement System, and as a matter of course we (programming team) always kept a rigid distinction between our design files and the user content files. Users had access to all the resources (aka magic name files), but the design/programming files were hard-coded into the templates.

Carmen Carter
Friday, June 27, 2003

The advantage to magic names is that it will create a relative link to any document from any document.

So if you have a link on every page to

mysite.com/about.htm