Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

if..in [foldername] only

A CD newbie here. I want a link to appear on pages that are in a specific folder and not on other pages that use the same template.

Can't find an example of how to script this. Any suggestions? Also, is there any place where there are examples of scripting that gets into more detail than the online help?

I hope this is the right place to post questions like this - pls tell me where if not.

Also, when willl thisfolder work with next/previous? And yeah, lose the <p> tags! : )

Chas

ChasInNapa
Tuesday, May 27, 2003

The link can be made with keywords in the files in the folder where you want the link to appear.

{$foreach x in (and(folder "YourFolderName")(keyword_contains "(YourKeyword)"))$} <A href="{$x.link$}">{$x.headline$}</A>
{$next$}

Jorgen Brenting
Tuesday, May 27, 2003

In CityDesk 2 only...

{$ foreach 1 a in (and (folder "MyFolder") (thisFolder)) $}
This text will only appear in articles in "MyFolder"
{$ next $}

where MyFolder is the name of your folder.

How it works: the condition lists all articles that are both in MyFolder *and* in the current article's folder. That means, if the current article is in MyFolder, the list enumerates all articles in the folder. If the current folder is not in MyFolder, the list returns nothing. I put a "1" in the forEach clause so it only runs through the loop at most once, no matter how many articles there are. And the body of the loop happens to include only plain text, no CityScript, which doesn't bother anyone.

Good sources of CityScript tips and tricks can be found in the "other resources" section of the margin of www.citydesknews.com - especially http://tk-jk.net/city/index.html

Joel Spolsky
Tuesday, May 27, 2003

This works perfectly, Joel (not really a suprise :)