Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

developer vs. content provider use of CD

As a developer, I see citydesk a certain way.  Its a cms to me with scripting, which is a kind of pre-processor.  I've built two, going on three sites for customers with it.  One of the customers doesn't need to update the site.  The other one writes new articles from time to time, but he would have trouble dealing with CD, even as a content provider.  He can use Word, but cut and paste is a skill that confuses him.  Two applications running at the same time on his machine is totally beyond his comprehension. 

So my question to you who have customers updating their own sites is:  What works, what doesn't?  Do they mess with variables? or just create articles?  Do they enter content into the various fields?

just wondering

Joel Goldstick
Saturday, May 17, 2003

KISS - Keep It Simple Stupid

keywords are out, folders are in... as few as possible. Publish based on number of artiles "only the top 4" if they want more control, let them drag articles from the "homepage" folder into the "archive" folder and loop based on the folder.

www.marktaw.com
Saturday, May 17, 2003

Im with you Joel Goldstick.

My clients are too lamers for using computers in general.

Robert
Sunday, May 18, 2003

I've done two sites that the customer is publishing themselves and I'm close on two more.

The first already had an OpenACS site but the programmer was too busy to give the authors enough training.  But the authors were knowledgable and started publishing buckloads the day I sent them the .cty file. I was proud of them.