Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

Export?

I maintain my product docs, including help files in CityDesk but, as opposed to a separate help .chm etc., I have incorporated a Help/documents Program mode that displays a hierachy of Domain specific docs and Help files.

What would be the best way to access these files from within the app?  I don't want to maintain two instances if I can avoid it.

Thanks,

B#
Tuesday, April 29, 2003

Say what what?

I have no idea what you're asking, but have you toyed with Audience at all?

www.marktaw.com
Tuesday, April 29, 2003

No, what is Audience?

I'm a html newbie, so maybe I don't understand how CityDesk functions.

I have a browser control incorporated within my app.  This allows me to view my help file directly within the app as opposed to having a chm or other separate help window.

I maintain these files within CityDesk along with Articles(?)for the domain specific documents that are needed.  When I say domain, I mean industry domain and not www.Domain.com.

How do I access these CityDesk articles from my app?

B#
Tuesday, April 29, 2003

Woah, still not sure what you're talking about.

You can use CityDesk to publish .htm files to any location you choose via file transfer or FTP.

Is there any way you could then load those into your APP or browser?

www.marktaw.com
Tuesday, April 29, 2003

The real question seems to be, how you want to bundle the help files with your app.

You could ship a folder with a bunch of individual .HTML files, then have your webbrowser control do a .Navigate to the full path of the top file.

Or you could ship a single .CHM file. I suspect that there is probably a way to get the webbrowser control to display a .CHM file, but I don't know what it is.