Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

which pages have been changed?

I am new to CityDesk and also to HTML design - perhaps there is an easy way to solve this ...

On my home page I want to show a list of the last 10 pages I changes on the site (or the pages I changed in the last few days) - remind you - not only added pages, also changed pages.

In case I am missing something (then all of this is obsolete), only the creation date is added/maintained automaticly on a page, an additional field about change date and time would be nice.

Unfortunately I will need a way to enable/disable this field on a page basis, there might be index pages which I update, but don't want to show in my list.

This whole thing can get complicated quickly, and I can also see the demand for more and more fields. As I have seen, other users overload the existing fields (teaser etc.) for various uses. This is of course a way out of this misery, but a general mechanism for the citydesk user to create his own fields (custom properties on a site of page basis) would be great. This might end up as a bottomless whole, since the next thing I will ask for is a programmatic way to fill those fields from some user code (ever thought of hosting a scripting engine or the new MS managed runtime (CLR) in the editing engine) ... hmmm - sorry - I am degressing ...

anyway ... thanks for reading so far ...
I enjoy this product.

Wolfgang
www.manousek.net

Wolfgang Manousek
Tuesday, October 15, 2002

just saw the request for 'revisiondate' some topics back ...

well, guess my topic is 'old news' (set revisiondate=<beginning of time>), still I like the ideas of user defined properties ;-)

Wolfgang
www.manousek.net

Wolfgang Manousek

User-defined fields have been suggested by lots of people, too. Let's keep our fingers crossed for CityDesk 2.0!

Darren Collins