Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

First Impressions ...

Okay, I've been playing with CityDesk over the past day, and here are some of my impressions.  I hope I'm not duplicating what others have already said, there are so many posts already and I'm new to the CityDesk beta.  But here goes:

First of all, good job, Joel.  =-)  I like CityDesk.  I think it's great.  I think it fills "a well needed gap".  I remember four or five years ago when I was a website maintainer for the MSE department at the University of Arizona, I almost wrote my own CityDesk to do the same article/formatting thing.  A good thing I didn't, of course ... I would have written a much worse CityDesk.  =-)

Okay, enough kissing up, now the fun happy slander comments:

The WYSIWYG editor is nigh-on useless for designing templates.  No way of doing table layout.  No way of adding a BODY background image.  No way of doing IMG width="100%" (I was trying to do a graphical HR tag).  Nice try though.  Let's accept the necessity of hand-coding a template file and move on.  =-)

Why does citydesk use EM instead of I and STRONG instead of B?  Although I'm sure every browser known to man considers them synonyms, it just seems "wrong" to not use I and B, which are explicitly italic and bold markup tags, respectively.

When I was importing images to citydesk, I had to import them one at a time.  Most other programs have "Open" dialog boxes that allow me to select multiple files to open.  That would have been very useful.