Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

Data Driven Citydesk Site

I did a little write up on creating a data driven web site ( http://www.stronglytyped.com/Articles/Buildingadatadrivensitewi.html ) with CityDesk which led me to another thought:

Would it be advantageous to add custom fields to articles?

For example:  Let's say I was maintaning a product list in CityDesk.  I could use a custom field for SKU, price, qty, etc.

Richard Caetano
Wednesday, April 03, 2002

I'm fairly new to CityDesk but was also thinking about custom fields in articles. They could be saved as label/value pairs in a single field in the CD database using XML. This way there would be no limitation on the number and names for the fields (except for field size limitations of the database, of course). The user interface would hide the XML and work like the variable editor already in CD.

I'd also like to see true If statements to go with them so that I could test article field values and control the rendering of the page accordingly.

Anyone else feel this way? Has it already been suggested?

P.S. While I'm asking...
How about a field to return the folder name for an article and a condition that matches all articles within the same folder as the current article with optional exclusion of the current article?

Stu

Nice proposal!  I use XML in this manner with some of my code...seems to be a nice fit.

Richard Caetano

I don't see the point in doing that since there is an editor anyways for articles in CityDesk. Why not just insert the name, address, all that stuff, there, instead of clicking properties and inserting a picture and all that stuff in the different sidebars and teasers.

Why not just add it in the regular site WYSIWYG editor provided in CityDesk. I don't see a use for the properties.

Jared