Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

Bug: build-in HTML viewer edits HTML source code.

When I put an existing HTML page (body) in an article in HTML View mode and publish the page right away without viewing the page in Normal View, I get the desired result.

But when I view the same page in Normal View mode, the build-in viewer changes the HTML! Publishing this pages results in a mess!

An example:
I am studying the feasibility using CityDesk to maintain html pages in an existing web application. The web application uses Netscape Application Server 4.0 (I know, I know: ancient technology). The application server uses < gx >< /gx > tags to fill the HTML page with dynamic content.

Following a part of the original, working HTML page:

<table border=0 cellPadding=0 cellspacing=1 width="608">
<gx type=tile id=Bill>
<gx type=tile id=BXStatement>
    <tr id=r<gx type=cell id=Statement.sumid></gx> class=unselrow bgcolor="#F4F4FF">
        <td width="17" valign="center" align="center"><INPUT TYPE="CHECKBOX" NAME="sumid" VALUE="<gx type=cell id="Statement.sumid></gx>" onClick="rowCheck(<gx type=cell id=Statement.sumid></gx>)"></td>
        <td width="58" valign="center">&nbsp;<gx type=cell id=Statement.billdate></gx></td>
    </tr>
    </gx>
    </gx>
</table>

This is what the CityDesk built-in viewer makes from the above html code:

<TABLE border=0 cellPadding=0 cellSpacing=1 width=608>
<TBODY>
<GX id=Bill type="tile">
<GX id=Statement type="tile">
<TR id="r<gx" type="cell"></GX>class=unselrow bgcolor="#F4F4FF"&gt;
<TD align=middle vAlign=center width=17>
<INPUT name=sumid type=checkbox value="<gx type=cell id=" Statement.sumid></GX>" onClick="rowCheck(<GX id=Statement.sumid type="cell"></GX>)"&gt;</TD>
<TD vAlign=center width=58>&nbsp;<GX id=Statement.billdate type="cell"></GX></TD>
</TR></GX></GX></TBODY></TABLE>

Please, notice differences in the <TR> tag.

Questions: