Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

Database

Okay i have read many things here about PHP. I am confused. I want to build a database that will reside on the web server. I want to access it from web pages. Hopefully done in citydesk. I like the site I have done in CD. I have 20 years Raltional Database dev.  But I have never done a web based database before. I am looking for advise on the fastest dev time. And the pitfals.
Thank you for your help in advance.

Joe Knapp
Saturday, December 04, 2004

Anybody used PHP ?

Joe Knapp
Monday, December 06, 2004

I'm not the person to ask but I did use John Conners weblog template that uses PHP. It might interest you:

http://www.johnsadventures.com/backend/CommentsSystemTemplate/AWeblogWithComments.html

There are plenty of PHP topics in this forum.

tk

I do my sites with cd, xthml, css and php, mySQL.  It works together well.

One thing, since PHP uses $ alot, you sometimes run into weird little issues with CD scripting.  But they are pretty easy to figure out.

I have a WAMP package called easyPHP installed on a local machine.  IT has Apache, mySQL and PHP all configured. Set up is easy (duh!). 

joel goldstick

If you're doing PHP, use MySQL. I don't know who you're hosting with, but most hosts will have it pre-configured for most medium level accounts.

www.MarkTAW.com

That helps alot. Thank you.

Joe Knapp

I only use php occasionally but try to keep the php code in a php file rather than a CityDesk article - and then use a php include in the CityDesk article to use the php file. Mainly that's to limit accidents when the article's content is edited.

For a couple of <FORM ACTION=etc> again the file processing the form submit is a php file rather than a CityDesk article and then I redirect the user to another CityDesk article [e.g. header("location: PTMFOG0000000090"); ] - so I might have 3 articles and 1 php file to process my form:

article-1-has-a-form