Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

deprecated methods should change

I am just learning to use CityDesk, but the biggest drawback, imo, is that the "customer" content contribution part of it has them use deprecated tags like  font  and "less-than-semantic" methods for markup.

Or maybe I am completely missing something?

Where does the end-user/contributor actually markup content like  h1  h2 , etc rather than just color text and make it bigger?

All my sites use css for appearance, including layout. I think it blows that this effort is trashed by the actual contribution of the end user... if there's a way around this that I can learn and teach to the end user, could someone please tell me?

Thanks!

DC
Sunday, November 21, 2004

You aren't missing anything. These are much requested features.

tk

Once upon a time there was a company called FogCreek. They made Citydesk 1.0. People asked for H1, H2, etc. Nothing happened. 1 year passed. Then came Citydesk 2.0. People asked for H1, H2, etc. Nothing happened. Who knows what the future will bring.

PeterM

You can set up HTML Tidy to run on your site before it is published.

It is smart enough to covert the font size tags to their corresponding h tags.  (usually)

There is a CityDesk addon called RTidy that should do what you want.  You could also make a batch file to handle it.  I wrote about how to do that on this board a while back.

Good luck!

jetexas

Yes, you can use to HTMLTidy to fix things on the backend.  But it's a kludge, doesn't allow you to preview things like CSS applied to tags, etc. 

This was a major problem with 1.0.  It is a basic need that was much requested.  Why was it ignored in 2.0 and how can we know if it 3.0, if there is a 3.0, addresses it?

David Burch
Monday, November 22, 2004