Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

Newbie in trouble, trying something big!

Hello,

Prelude -
Ok, here it is . . . I'm trying out CityDesk for the first time. I went through the tutorials, and I am sort of ok with Dreamweaver and Flash.

Situation -
I have a website (with complex tables that have graphics) that I would like to convert to CityDesk. I need to have each page look the same.

Problem -
CityDesk doesn't want me to import the site as a template (or at least I don't know how), so I can make a teaser on the home page, and have the article on a new page with the same navigation bar.

I know how to import the html file as a page in City, but I can't find out how to import the code or the graphics to be used as a template. The template has to look the same as the site (so the beautiful nav bar is always available).

Research -
1) I tried fiddling with the CSS, but I'm no expert. All I could accomplish was to delete stuff. (btw, how do I get rid of the line at the top of the default tutorial template)
2) I tried importing the html as a page and then copy pasting the code to the template. All the images had broken links, and I don't know how that would import if I fixed it internally (since the site is one file in City, I had no idea how the html would refer to the images - I couldn't even load the images as a template)

Second Problem -
As I was doing research, I found out that importing any html would act funny with the CSS. So I turned that off. I see the page correctly, but none of the JavaScript works now (rollover buttons)

Man, I sure hope that there is an easy fix for all of this.
I would greatly appreciate anyone's help.
Matt

Matt H
Friday, April 02, 2004

Oops . . .
Point 2 should have " . . . and I don't know how that would PUBLISH . . . " (not import) "if I fixed that with Dreamweaver" (not internally)

Matt H
Friday, April 02, 2004