Publishing to existing folder
It has been my experience that once you delete the citydesk.xml file, nothing else is touched. This is how I keep my citydesk database small, I only keep 3 months of monthly folders in the database, at the end of each month I delete the oldest monthly folders from the datatbase, then delete the xml file from the server and publish, it leaves the monthly folders intact. I then add a link to the list of files in the folders on a monthly archive page.
Doesn't the xml file have to be generated first before you can delete it?
CityDesk doesn't delete files it didn't create. It doesn't remove directories it didn't create either. It will overwrite a file with the same name in the same location. Just to convince yourself of what will happen, why not ftp your comlete old site to somewhere on your machine, set up a publishing location that writes to that place and publish. Then look and see what happens.
Fog Creek Home