Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

How to do a 1 time import into a cty file...

It is "almost easy" to import new articles in a cty file if you have Access 2000 ( and are a programmer by profession...)

Here are the queries I did using Access 2000 -- do extra backups first in case you goof on the queries -- for anyone wanting to try the same.

I started by renaming the file to the .mdb extension so access knew to open it.

My [Articles] table has 4 fields
- myName - was my filename
- myKey - my keywords including "(article)"
- title - article title
- content - the article in html format

001 Add Articles to tblArticle

INSERT INTO tblArticle ( ixSet, ixLanguage, sHeadline, sAuthor, cbSize, sKeywords, fDeleted, fTranslated, ixTemplateStructure, sArticle, dtModified )
SELECT -1 AS Expr6, 1 AS Expr1, [Articles].[title], [Articles].[myName], 0 AS Expr2, [Articles].[myKey], 0 AS Expr3, 1 AS Expr4, 1 AS Expr5, [Articles].[content], Now() AS Expr7
FROM Articles;

002 Update tblArticle - fix ixSet

UPDATE tblArticle SET tblArticle.ixSet = [tblArticle].[ixArticle]
WHERE ([tblArticle].[ixSet]=-1);

003 Add Articles to tblStructure

INSERT INTO tblStructure ( ixLevel, ixOrder, ixParent, sName, iType, ixItem, fDeleted, sPublishAs )
SELECT 1 AS Expr1, -1 AS Expr2, 0 AS Expr3, [tblArticle].[sAuthor], 2 AS Expr4, [tblArticle].[ixArticle], 0 AS Expr5, [tblArticle].[sAuthor]
FROM tblArticle
WHERE (([tblArticle].[sKeywords]) Like "*(article)*");

Make sure you had "(article)" as a value in [Articles].[myKey] before doing step 001.

004 Update tblStructure - fix ixOrder

UPDATE tblStructure SET tblStructure.ixOrder = ([tblStructure].[ixStructure]-###)
WHERE ((([tblStructure].[ixOrder])=-1));