Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

permissions to edit, possible to restrict them?

Dear all,

great thing this CityDesk 2.0.19!

I'm new to it and just evaluating, but it has amazing features for the designer and is easy to use by the content providers at the same time. Nice job done, Joel!

A perfect example of the 'keep it simple, keep it working' approach to making software. So I assume I've overlooked something with my problem/question:

Is it possible to manage access rights to modify the site?

I want to restrict editing access to certain articles containing CityScript, so that the unexperienced endusers ain't confronted with it and ain't able to mess with it.

But the main reason is: I MUST restrict access to article contents editing to the person/user group it owns. This is a requirement of my customer (assume any reason for this including persons attempting to mess with contents provided by others). I CAN NOT go with CityDesk, when restricted access is not possible!

Any hints?

What I'm looking for is something like UNIX permissions:

- there are users/authors organized into groups
- every user has at least one group membership, but might be a member of several groups
- there is a user 'root' with unrestricted permissions
- there is a virtual group 'all', every user/author is member of this group
- each article has owner assignments to a user and a group (initially the author and his primary group, but changable)
- each article has write permission settings for
-- owner
-- owners group
-- all others

Thanks for any hints.

xlerb

xlerb (Georg Rehfeld)
Sunday, February 01, 2004

You can't do this with the current version of CityDesk.

John Topley (www.johntopley.com)

Dear John, all,

> You can't do this with the current version of CityDesk.

Thanks for your answer (though you shouldn't have provided your WEB address - this took me considerable time to peek at :-)