Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Knowledge Base
Documentation
Terry's Tips
Darren's Tips

Friend still can't open my site

I posted this awhile back, before upgrading to 2.0, but I never did not get it solved.  I have a friend who wants to read my blog but can't open it.  All he gets is the first line at the top of the page and then it stops loading.  He is using a powermac with AOL.  I know, AOL, but he still should be able to view a simple html site.  There must be an error in the html code in the template that his browser is getting stuck on.

Here is my site address; www.artergroup.com/jimsblog

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Jim

Jim Arter
Tuesday, January 13, 2004

Your HTML doesn't validate. That may have something to do with it.

Troy King

I have no experience with AOL whatsoever (thankfully ;-) ), but if you think that the problem is the HTML, you should fix the things that the W3C MarkUp Validator reports:

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.artergroup.com%2Fjimsblog%2F

Henrik Jernevad (www.henko.net)

It works fine in my AOL 7 on my PC. I've never had a problem viewing anything in AOL. But your friend can use IE once he logs into AOL.

There is lots of paste-in-from-Word html junk in there that may cause a problem for him like that might choke on some Mac's:
<span style="mso-spacerun: yes"> and

<p class="MsoNormal" style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt">&nbsp;<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /?>

It's just not a great thing to paste from Word because it brings all that junk with it. I usually paste from Word to Notepad to CityDesk to clean it out.

He may have something old or screwed up on his machiine.

tk

tk :re paste-in-from-Word html junk

If you're a MS Office user that stuff you labeled as junk works just great as long as you stay within IE. If on the other hand you're using a browser other than IE it may be problematic.